Noro Socks #4

I’m obsessed with Noro yarn, and I’m obsessed with knitting striped socks with them.  This is my 4th pair and I’m already looking for my next skein. The yarn is a beautifully dyed self striping yarn. I usually use the Noro Kureyon Sock, but wanted to try the Silk Garden Sock.  The Silk Garden is a bit thicker than the Kureyon, but both are really fun to work with.

I knit these on a long Size 1 circular needle using a toe up, magic loop technique. I like the toe up method because I don’t have to guess how long to make the leg before turning the heel and, in turn, I end up wasting less yarn this way. I have many other knitting projects in progress, but once I start on a pair of these socks, I usually can’t stop until they’re done…it’s that addicting.

The yarn gradually fades from one color to the next, so to get the distinct stripes that you see in these socks, I made 4 equal sized yarn balls (2 for each sock), and alternated the balls of yarn every 4 rows.

Anyway, if you have any questions about how I did this, let me know!

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Knitting

2 responses to “Noro Socks #4

  1. KnitterInPink

    Ok here’s my question…are noro socks COMFORTABLE!??! Maybe I’m too sensitive…but noro seems so scratchy to me…I’ve avoided making socks from it. How soft are they…let’s say compared to Sweet Georgia, or even Cascade’s heritage sock yarn? I’d love to hear your thoughts…because those are some mighty awesome socks. I just have this comfort issue…lol.

    • Hi there. I don’t think that they are the most comfortable socks ever, but they are not uncomfortable…I wear mine all the time. I’m not that familiar with the 2 yarns that you mention, but compared to something like Malabrigo Sock, these are definitely a bit stiffer and scratchier. However, after wearing them a bit and a couple of washings, they soften up a ton and I feel like they last longer than other sock yarns. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

